The Charlie Graingers' story began in 1939 by Mr. Charlie and Mrs. Anne Grainger. Charlie Grainger was an accomplished musician traveling all over the country by train in his private railcar. He played the finest and most sought out venues across America playing Big Band and jazz sounds to packed orchestra houses. He met his wife Anne and set his sights on Wilmington, NC to start a new way of life. Settling on Queen Street he opened the "Peacock Alley" restaurant and became the first drive-in in Wilmington, NC. The Grainger’s retired in the 1980’s leaving a long legacy of hot dogs and stories behind. Many generations, young and old, fondly remember the smell and taste of the original Peacock Alley and it’s lasting memories made over the decades.
Owner, Louis North purchased the site of the Original Peacock Alley in 2012. He demolished the too far dilapidated and condemned buildings and decided to rebuild. The new Peacock Alley opened in 2013, serving the same world-class hot dogs and southern cooking as the Original. In 2015, the name was changed to Charlie Graingers to honor the legendary founder. Charlie Graingers is positioned and built on the exact location as the original. North decided the new location needed a little more area than the original and built a brand new 908 square foot building; the original building was 310 square feet (after three additions and remodels). Charlie Graingers has 12 custom-made counter stools overlooking 17th Street. Also one of the more unique features incorporated into the design are the 10 handmade gas lanterns on the interior. Not exactly the same drive-in service as yesteryear, Charlie Graingers does offer plenty of free parking and Curb-Side Pick Up.